Merry Christmas for me & my family

I had a lovely Christmas. I hope all of you who celebrate did, too. If you didn’t, I am holding you in my thoughts.

For me, the true meaning of Christmas comes at the end of the Christmas Eve church service, when the lights are dimmed, and each person lights their candle from the person next to them. The whole sanctuary gradually fills with a lovely, flickering light, as the congregation sings softly of a magical night long ago and far away. In that moment, we are all one, one worshipful body of people, momentarily letting our cares and worries slip away. Then the music fades away, the candles are extinguished, and we all go out into the cold to go home and wait for the excitement of Christmas morning.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Feeling Good about 2012 « pattytmitchell

Leave a comment