We have to talk about this

It is not okay that we live in a world where women have to write posts like this On Being an Object, and then Not Being an Object and like this It Should be Said. I am so glad they have spoken out, but women should not be treated as objects. The women who wrote those posts are brave enough to share their stories with their readers. I am not ready to share mine. I wish with all my heart that no woman ever, ever had those stories to tell.

Women are not objects, to be leered at, touched, and taken advantage of. Most men know that. Some don’t. This is not okay.

Tell your daughters not to let anyone touch them or talk to them in a way that makes them uncomfortable. Tell your sons that, too. And then tell them not to do that to anyone else, either.

Speak out when you see men treat women (or girls) badly. Speak out when you are treated badly. Speak out when other women speak out. If we all make our voices heard, maybe we can change the world.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Love this post. Fantastic. Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply
  2. I have 2 sons 19 and 15. I preach to them on a regular basis on how to treat a woman. To never disrespect them and treat them as if they are worthless. I also tell them to think of me, meaning how would they feel if someone treated their mother that way. I hope in there adulthood they will keep everything I taught them and not fall in to the nasty trend.
    Thanks for reading my post “Woman’s Worth”

    Reply

Leave a comment