Revenge (Lamentations) #poem

They whisper to me
I hear them night and day
I cannot sleep – they whisper to me
My lost family, my clan

Murdered!

I hear them night and day
Shall I revenge them?
My lost family, my clan
I must have revenge

Revenge he must have!

How shall I revenge them?
Find their murderers, massacre them
I must revenge myself and them
First, I must release them

Wait, wait. You do not know . . .

Find their murderers and massacre them
Release them through the fire
As I must release my clan
I gather my pack to leave my mother’s clan sky-riser

We are gone already . . . release was nothing

Release them through the fire
They silently watch me gathering myself
I gather my pack to leave the sky-riser
None to wish me well, none to say the ‘fare-thee-well’

We wish you well, we wish you well

They silently watch me gathering myself
It is time. Back the old familiar way
None to wish me well, none to say the ‘fare-thee-well’
Down the road I go, to my old home.

Are you sure of what you will find?

It is time. Back the old familiar way
The last time I walked this way, I carried rabbit pelts for my beloved.
Down the street I go, to my old home
But there is only empty sky and charred ruins!

{very softly} You should listen more

The last time I walked this way, I carried rabbit pelts for my beloved.
They are gone – the fire has come!
There is only empty sky and charred ruins!
Who has cheated me of helping them to peace?

We still haunt your heart.

{A scroll lies glimmering on the ground
{Its golden cord tied around thick vellum
{Shining in the weak sunlight.
{Unrolled gingerly by grimy fingers}

These souls released
by order of the Walker
Authorized by Order
of the King Mysterious.

They are gone – the fire has come!
I cannot sleep – they whisper to me
Who has cheated me of helping them to peace?
They whisper to me

We love you.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

