Breakthrough

I had a writing breakthrough this morning. I’m working on a new project, and I had one poem written for the project, which is telling a story through a series of linked poems. The problem is that the poem I have already written fits into the middle of the series. So I need to find a sense of direction for the project, a beginning, a middle, and an end, that manages to fit the poem I have already written and the vision I had when I wrote it.

I have been struggling for months to fit it into a certain worldview, call it Direction A. This was not working and work has been going very slowly. The past few days, I wasn’t even working on poems for it, I have been writing essay excerpts about the values inherent in Direction A. This is a problem.

Yesterday, I decided that Direction A is its own project, and I would start from scratch for a vision for this project, Direction B. This morning I sat down, feeling daunted, to create Direction B and figure out where I wanted to go with it. I started thinking again about what I had in mind for the original poem I wrote, and what that might mean about the world it was set in. Ten minutes later, I have a worldview, a setting, ideas for poems for the beginning of the series, and where it will go after the poem I already have. All of it feels right, like I am tapping into something that exists already, and I’m not trying to force it to be something it is not.

Apologies for the vagueness of this post, I’m not quite ready to share the contents of either Direction A or Direction B. But I hope and expect that you will be hearing more about them in the future.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

