Sunday Service: Social Justice from a Spiritual Perspective

I am going to be participating in a book discussion group over the next few weeks. We will be discussing The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander. It is a book about the ways the criminal justice system and the prison system in the United States is set up as a racial caste system.

I will probably be posting more about this book in the weeks to come, but tonight I want to talk about working for social justice from my spiritual perspective.

As a Buddhist, I believe that each person is obligated towards compassion towards all other living beings and to help them on the path to Enlightenment. As a human being, I believe that I am obligated to help those less fortunate than I. I read a book like The New Jim Crow, and I feel petrified by the sheer size of the task, to change the basic attitudes of society towards race and create a new society, one in which we no longer need to work for racial justice, because true racial equality has been achieved. Then I open the newspaper, and it seems that every page has an article about a different justice issue.

I feel overwhelmed.

But I am not alone in the struggle for justice. I spent some time today with other people who are working for justice, each in their own way. We will be talking together, and we might end up walking together down a path for justice, working together. I am not alone, and perhaps together justice will prevail.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reading The New Jim Crow « UUCIF Social Justice

Leave a Reply

