Working Wednesday: Stitch Markers

I have undertaken a huge project to make a set of tassel stitch markers from every color of thread I own. Forty-some colors, 6 tassels each. What possessed me to think this a good idea?

Well, it started when I realized that I could showcase my custom (made-to-order) tassels much better if I had a sample of each color in a tassel. So I would need a tassel of each color. Then I thought, well, stitch markers sell pretty well to the knitters I know, I bet they would sell even better if they could choose from every color I have. It seemed such a good idea at the time. :) And it’s still a good idea, it’s just taking a lot longer than I thought it would.

It’s been a couple months now, and this is as far as I’ve gotten:

Cut pearl cotton thread in bags

Thread sets cut and bagged, ready to make tassel stitch markers

I’ve cut about half the colors I need, into the lengths for 6 one-inch tassels, with top wraps, and put them in labeled bags. Not all the colors are in the pictures — it turns out I was running low on some colors of threads and need to order more to have enough to make a full set of stitch markers. So the photo shows only the colors that are complete and ready to go.

I hope to have this project done in the fall sometime, when I will have tons of stitch markers in my store and improved custom tassel listings, too.

This is posted in conjunction with the Idaho Etsy Team. Interested in more? The other Idaho Etsy Team members are linking up over on the team blog.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Working Wednesday: Tassel Color Samples « Lizbeth's Garden

Leave a Reply

