Sunday Service: Love

Have you ever heard a song for what you think is the first time, and then realize you somehow know the tune and all the words?

That happened to me last year when I heard “Love is something if you give it away, give it away, give it away” sung. It’s a Malvina Reynolds song. Do you know the rest? (Here’s a hint: It’s called The Magic Penny* but some people just call it Love is something).

I thought my parents used to sing it to me. I told lots of people that. And when I happened upon the words to Little Boxes in A Gospel Songbook from the 1960s, and I knew the tune, I was sure my parents had sung me Malvina Reynolds songs.

When they were visiting last fall, and suddenly broke out singing Malvina Reynolds songs, I was convinced. And they confirmed it when I asked them.

But then, I was researching this post, and I discovered that Malvina Reynolds used to guest star on Sesame Street in the 1980s, singing The Magic Penny. Guess what I watched every day in the mid-80s?

But really, I don’t think it matters where I first heard the songs. What really matters is the message.

Love. Couldn’t we all use a little bit more love in our lives?

*Lyrics to The Magic Penny Note: This seems to be the official Malvina Reynolds site, co-authored by her daughter.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. i loved your site, thanks!

    Reply
  2. Josh

     /  February 25, 2012

    lizbethsgarden This post is priceless. Howcan I find out more?|Is there a second post on this|Is there more to come}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

