Looking Back: Completing New Year’s Resolutions

Well, it’s the first day of February, so I thought I’d take a look back at the goals I set for this month and this year at the beginning of January, and see how I did.

First up, the personal goals.

  1. Write more. Post every day to this blog. Work more on my novel — at least a paragraph a day, preferably 500 words a day. Get out of the no-poetry-writing slump I’ve been in.
    Check. I’ve been writing something in my journal and posting to Daily Writing Practice every weekday. I have posted to this blog all but 6 days this month (and one of those was due to the SOPA strike). Some poetry has been written. Not so good on the novel-writing front, though. Must work harder on that.
  2. Start writing notes and letters to friends and family again. I used to write letters to my friends and family on a semi-regular basis. I’d like to do that again.
    Fail. Not one note has been written this month. Try again this month.
  3. Keep the house clean. Start following a housekeeping/cleaning schedule again.
    Debatable. The house is cleaner, but I’m not following the cleaning schedule. Try harder this month.

So it looks like I kept my writing goals and resolutions but not the other 2. I’m keeping the same goals for February, so we’ll see how that goes.

Next up, business resolutions for the year.

  1. Get brochures about my tassels and (maybe) actual tassels into at least one local bridal gown store and at least one home decor store.
    Nope. I need to work my courage up for that one. Also, I stalled out on making the brochures — much more daunting than I anticipated (more on that in a moment).
  2. Take new tassels for each season/holiday to the local gallery where my tassels are on consignment.
    Check. Valentine’s tassels are in the gallery, and I have a few more to take in.
  3. List a new tassel or item every day in my Etsy store.
    Check. Momentum is faltering, however, as I wind down on Valentine’s tassels and start thinking about spring tassels.
  4. List a new item weekly in my Zibbet store.
    Fail. In fact, the entire set of listings in the Zibbet store expired and I did nothing about it. Uh oh.
  5. Make at least one Etsy sale per month.
    Yes! I made 2 Etsy sales in January, and 1 already for February.
  6. Make at least 40 Etsy sales this year.
    So far, so good.
  7. Have a home show.
    Starting to plan.
  8. Teach a class on beading tassels.
    No plans yet. Good thing I’m looking back at my goals. Maybe I’ll actually remember to start planning this.

Not too bad. Half the goals are on track for the year. I better get to work on the other half.

Lastly, specific goals for January.

  1. Create brochures.
    I set up a project in PrintShop. Does that count? :) Seriously, it seemed really daunting (the only document layout software I have is PrintShop, and the standard brochure template doesn’t have a tri-fold brochure) and I got bogged down. Does anyone have suggestions for a software program for making brochures easily?
  2. Stock up on tassel-making supplies.
    Check. I still need a few things, but I’m pretty much set for a while.
  3. Create Valentine’s tassels, enough for the Etsy store and the local gallery.
    Check. Just a couple more and I’m done.
  4. Finish previous line of wedding tassels.
    Check.
  5. Start new lines of wedding tassels, baby shower tassels, and spring flower tassels.
    February.
  6. Start new line of engraved copper medallions.
    February.

Well, again, half got done, half didn’t. I don’t think that’s too bad, really.

And this post wouldn’t be complete without setting new goals for February.

February Goals

  1. Start new lines of wedding tassels, baby shower tassels, and spring flower tassels.
  2. Set date for home show (ideally in March).
  3. If home show is in March, send out postcards.
  4. Start new line of engraved copper medallions.
  5. Start planning for tassel beading class.
  6. Create brochures.
  7. Renew Zibbet items. Add one item per week to Zibbet store.
  8. Create a free gift for people who sign up for my newsletter.

Wish me luck! I’ll report back at the beginning of March.

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I love seeing your how you’re progressing on your goals! It is really inspiring to me since I can’t even seem to LIST my goals. Please keep us readers updated.

    Reply
    • I sure will! It took me a long time to figure out how to write down the goals I had for my shop — I knew what I wanted, but to articulate it was a different matter. So don’t despair of your goals! And for me, writing them down & updating my readers keeps me accountable — I can’t forget my goals if I’m going back & looking at them, telling you all how I’m doing.

      Reply
  1. February Goals: How did I do? Plus New Business & Blogging Goals for March « Lizbeth's Garden
  2. March Goals: Check-In and New Goals for April « Lizbeth's Garden
  3. April Goals: Check-In and New Goals for May « Lizbeth's Garden

Leave a Reply

