Excerpt from my Novel (Amy)

October 1906

Thump! Thump! Thump!

The loud noise woke me out of a sound sleep. I flung my legs over the side of the bed and propelled myself into the main room. “I’m coming!” I yelled. The thumping stopped.

I wrenched open the door and found myself leaping back from the snow swirling inside. My doorway was filled with what looked like a walking snowman. A storm had struck while I had been asleep.

“Are you the doctor?” The snowman had a surprisingly high-pitched voice.

“I am.”

“You must come at once! My husband has broken his leg!”

“I will come. But I must get dressed for the weather. Please come in by the fire for a moment,” I said and the snowman moved inside. I shut the door and poked up the fire.

I hurried into the bedroom and shut the door. I yanked on my warmest clothes in several layers, thanking God that I had had the sense to listen to those who told me how cold Montana’s winters can be, and purchased the warmest clothes I could find. I went back into the main room, intent on grabbing my bag.

I stopped dead in the doorway. The snowman had shed his hat and scarf, revealing not a man at all but a beautiful young woman with flowing red hair. This was completely unexpected. I remembered suddenly that she had mentioned a husband.

“Alright. Let’s get going.” I said gruffly to cover my confusion. She put her rough raiments back on and we headed to the door. “Where is your husband?”

“Up in the high woods.” she answered.

“Good God, woman, how did you get down here?” I demanded as I opened the door and the full force of the blizzard swirled in my face.

“It didn’t start snowing until an hour or so ago.” She led the way around the house. At the back, in the lee of the wind, were two horses. She untethered them and pulled herself to the top of one. I got on the other.

“Just how far away is your husband?”

“Two hours by horse in good weather.”

I shuddered. It was going to be a long day. Head down, we moved off, into the blizzard, up into the woods north and west of town.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hey lizbethsgarden, I love your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

