Tuesday Treasure: The Story of the Irish Keyring

I love this keyring. I think it is my favorite item in my whole store. I smile every time I see it.

A long time ago, before I started beading tassels, I ventured into a bead store. I don’t even remember what I wanted to make, but I came out with lots of cheap plastic pony beads, some cool glass beads, and a malachite heart. I love malachite, especially carved malachite, and I fell in love with this tiny little heart.

But I had nothing to make with this heart, and it sat in my bead drawer for years. Every once in a while, I’d pull it out and stare at it, but I never did dream up a project to use it in.

Until I started beading tassels, and I picked up at the bead store (not the same one) some neat jadeite green glass hearts. I decided to use them in a keyring. I combined them with a green tassel and cream and green seed beads (I love the stripey effect here). On  most of my tassels, all the fringes are the same and the back is symmetrical with the front. But as I started the back of this keyring, I thought it would be fun to add a little surprise on this tassel. At the top of one of the back fringes, I added my little malachite heart.

Some day, this tassel will sell, and it will go to someone else’s home. I hope that when that day comes, it goes to someone who loves it and the little malachite heart as much as I do.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Tuesday Treasure: Cranberry and Gold Man in the Moon Tassel « Lizbeth's Garden

Leave a Reply

