Freezing Tomatoes: A How To

Small tomatoes in Korea

Image via Wikipedia

Do you have more tomatoes than you know what to do with? I don’t yet, because here in Idaho we are still anxiously waiting for the tomatoes to bloom and set fruit. But for those of you with longer growing seasons and real spring, I thought I’d share this here. It’s instructions for freezing tomatoes that I wrote for another blog I occasionally contribute to. Read Freezing Tomatoes.

You will notice that I do not remove the tomato skins before freezing them, nor do I boil them. I believe the nutrients in the tomatoes keep best when the tomatoes are handled as little as possible, and many of the nutrients are in the skin, anyway. This way the nutrients make it into your final recipe, instead of being drained away with cooking water and discarded with the skins.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

