Sunday Service: Memorial Day

There was an article in the newspaper today about how Memorial Day is losing its significance for Americans, even as we fight two wars. It also mentioned, in passing, a cultural dislike of formal rituals and observances right now.

For myself, I don’t go to any local observances, particularly in the cemeteries, because I live away from where my people are buried, and I feel awkward attending a ceremony for people I do not know. I tend to think that ceremonies for the dead are best confined to those who knew them. What do you think about Memorial Day? Has it become just another shopping/picnic holiday, or does it retain its meaning? Tell me in the comments.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I think it has become just another picnic, shopping, BBQ and party holiday. I used to go EVERY YEAR to the cemetery. A lot of my family has served, almost all the men in my family in my grandfather’s generation served in WWII. Unfortunately, the last year and probably this year, I won’t go. I think it’s unfortunate more people don’t participate.

    Reply
  1. Memorial Day Book « Post A Day 2011 | Wordpress Challenge

Leave a Reply

