Friday Feature: ad87

Today we’re visiting with ad87 on Etsy.

1. How’d you get started on Etsy?
I started my business much earlier than intended (was just doing the marketing/pr at the time) and since I was already out there, I decided to go ahead and add on the artistic side as well. I opened the shop in April and listed my first in May after I attended my first anime convention (part of the target market I was trying to draw in).

2. What was your inspiration for your shop?
I’ve been working in the underground European/East Asian music scene–be that blogging, online promo, or street team work–for the last 4-5 years now. Outside of the music, the fashion also pulled me in. I wanted to created the pieces I wish I could see in my favorite overseas stores; I wanted to find away to truly make an outfit my own. So while I was sitting my room in college (lovingly referred to as “my breadbox”), I used some needle and thread to attempt my first choker. It came out fantastic. So after years of sketching and wondering “what if”–I made the shop.

3. What’s your favorite shop item and why?
Currently? I’d say the cyberpunk braid falls I made not too long ago. They are very symbolic of where I stand as a designer–spontaneous, an unusual combination, and familiar all as the same time.

4. How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
I’m not even sure that’s a part of my vocabulary. Unwind…Well, I run a street team for a Swedish rock band and have friends throughout the entertainment industry. So visiting/talking with them unwinds me. I grew up dancing, so that’s another avenue. Reading’s my big thing though. If I had to choose between a shopping spree at the mall or a bookstore, I’d take the bookstore.

5. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
I don’t eat them a lot, but if I had to choose–mint chocolate.

6. What pushes you to want to create something?
Life. If only there were a way to let someone see into my mind for a second…It’s as if I have a vault in my head. Each piece I create helps me to connect the dots and make more sense of the world around me.
7. What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid. As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
Who says I ever stopped? *grins* I had a number of them as a child: The Care Bears, Jem and the Holograms, etc. As an adult, I’m into anime (Japanese cartoons). Some are specifically created with adults in mind. My favorite one is Inuyasha. But there are numerous ones I enjoy.

8. What’s your fantasy job?
I was just speaking with my friends a few days ago about this. I would love to do 2 things in my life: work for Cirque du Soleil (makeup or costume design departments) and supply musicians with accessories/free promo. The latter would involve endorsing signed/unsigned bands with materials for music videos and shows.

9. Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
Not that I know of. Though, if I were to think of it, wouldn’t sharing it sort of kill the idea?

10. List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
Watching YouTube videos, using my Blackberry for any and everything, & helping people.

11. List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.
www.etsy.com/shop/nottoto
www.etsy.com/shop/UnkammenSupplies
www.etsy.com/shop/smokymountainfibers

12. Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
J.R.R. Tolkien. I even took a class on his works in college. When I read, I do it in one sitting–whether it’s 100 pages or 10,000 pages. I get lost in the book when I read, so it’s just easier that way. I do own some bookmark’s though. I volunteers in libraries like crazy growing up, so dog ears or anything else but a bookmark irritates me when I see it.

13. If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
I’m already trying to save up for England. I’ve said I’d move there since I was in second grade and studied abroad there early on in college. It’s the closest I’ve ever felt to home. I’m a number of years out on that plan, though. The visa requirements vs. this economy are the main reasons.

14. What is your best childhood memory?
Wow. After answering all the other questions, this one is the toughest. I don’t know, to be honest…I do remember when my mother took me in to Chicago for a ballet class I was attending. We had stepped off the train (I live in the suburbs) and there were these two older women in the bathroom saying the rudest things about this younger woman. I had the guts to actually verbally-reprimand them about it.

I know that sounds weird to read and meant nothing real deep to me at the time. They were making fun of a woman I now know was dressed in cybergoth clothing and hair (Google it–quite interesting fashion). I’ll never forget the smile the young woman gave me as she left the room. I didn’t even know I was defending a subculture–let alone one that would intrigue me later on.

But just imagine it–a young black child in a leotard lecturing two grown woman about a young woman with red and black yarn attached to her hair. Brilliant image.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

