Friday Feature: Designing Impressions

I’m going to start featuring an Etsy shop on Fridays. First up, Designing Impressions Jewelry. You may remember she featured me a few weeks ago.

1. How’d you get started on Etsy?
I was laid off and without many prospects. After some time, I decided to start making jewelry on the side to make end meet. A local beadshop owner who later became a friend suggested that I look at Etsy as a viable opportunity.

2. What was your inspiration for your shop?
Previously I made jewelry going by someone else’s designs. When I started out I was kinda like a flopping fish. Jumping in every direction trying to get a feel of what worked for me. What didn’t work I simply placed back into the bead soup and racked up what I could to experience.

3. What’s your favorite shop item and why?
My favorite? Wow, I’m not sure. The Fall Leaves of Wood spiral beadwoven necklace is a great statement necklace without looking gaudy. But I really like the moukaite jasper cha cha bracelet, too. It reminds me of the Blue Ridge in the fall. And then there’s the fall colored vintage look pearl, stone, and antique brass necklace. It’s very strinking and rich colored.

4. How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
That is my unwinding. I have always created something. If I’m doing I feel a bit lost. Somethings getting lost is a good thing. Then I get lost in popular urban fantasy books like The Dresden Files and Doctor Who.

5. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
The kind that’s been decorated by my daughter with butter recipe, chocolate frosting and loaded with sprinkles.

6. What pushes you to want to create something?
I’m constantly looking for the next thing. I’ll find a piece of junk and an idea will pop in using some kind of techinique I have tried or seen. Most of the time I just mentally file it for reference. If I own it already, I have no problem tearing into a new project.

7. What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid. As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
Doctor Who, Doctor Who Classic and virtually anything to do with sci-fi or BBC would be my first choices followed by musically charged movies like Valley Girl, Little Shop of Horrors and Grease.

8. What’s your fantasy job?
To be a paid artist with a large studio.

9. Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
Yes, but I’m not telling. I’d feel too guilty.

10. List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
Chocolate
Pop Tarts
Pizza

11. List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/sojourncuriosities
http://www.etsy.com/shop/MossMountain
http://www.etsy.com/shop/sunbasilgarden

12. Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
Jim Butcher, JR Ward, Patricia Briggs and Rachel Caine are my faves. I use a bookmark that has seen better days and needs replacing.

13. If money was no object and you can live wherever you want….where would that be?
The UK. I’d start in London and travel outward in a spiral fashion until I find the “right” spot. It has to be a place with walking room and history. Lots of greenness with a large enough community to be able to fit in easily. And maybe close to water.

14. What is your best childhood memory?
Spending time with my dad and my 100n1 electronics kit making a radio. We made it several times over the years in the kitchen and used the pipes as the antenna. We graduated from that to soldering my first digital clock together.

15. Where can we find you online?
http://www.designingimpressions.etsy.com/
http://www.artfire.com/users/DesigningImpressions
http://www.designingimpressions.blogspot.com/
http://twitter.com/DesigningImp

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Nice feature and she has some fabulous pieces in her shop!

    Reply
  2. what a great idea….

    Reply
  3. MegsCrochetJewels

     /  October 16, 2010

    Great spotlight! Its so great to get to know each other!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

