Facebook and Privacy

I found this, Facebook and “radical transparency” (a rant) yesterday. I am seriously considering leaving Facebook now. Although I treat it like I would any other part of the Web, and don’t post anything I wouldn’t want anyone to read, I really don’t like the idea of a company messing with my personal data and constantly changing the rules. I am aware that much of my data on the Web is used for advertising and that (all of it) is publicly available, and I am always mindful of that. I always read privacy policies, and act in accordance with what I know will be public. What I don’t like is those rules always changing, and never knowing what will be public tomorrow. The only reason I haven’t left yet is because I haven’t decided how to fill the gap in the marketing for my business. If you have any thoughts on that, I’d love to hear them.

For those of you on Facebook, what do you think? Do you post/manage your data on the assumption that all is public? Will you be leaving Facebook? (And for my friends on Facebook, now you know why I am terminally boring there. :) )

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

