Writing a Poem

It’s been so long since I’ve had a good poem to work on, one that speaks to me and I have much work to do on.

Before my vacation, I had not been writing much poetry, just responding to prompts and that was about it. The break has given me energy to really write again, and it feels so good to be putting words down on the paper, crossing them out, adding notes and analysis on the side, reworking the poetic words, and repeating.

I have always had dry spells of writing, and I have been working in the last few years to continue to write even when inspiration is lacking. I think I have been succeeding, and getting much more practice in. It’s good for my writing to write even when I don’t want to, and craft the words and practice fitting them together, but it’s a lot more fun to do it with inspiration and the voice of the poem singing in my head, fitting the words on the page to the dream in my mind.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

