On Writing, Editing, and Trying to be Published

Some time ago, before I started this blog, I was trying to get my poetry published. I wanted to get my ideas and words out in the world, and the best way to do that seemed to be to get published. So I would write a poem (and everything I wrote, I was trying to write something of publishable quality) and then I would edit it (not really knowing what I was looking for) and then I would send it off. I don’t think they were bad poems, but they weren’t great, either. Of course nothing was published (although I still think some were better than some published poems I read).

Every time a poem came back, rejected, I would sit down and struggle with it, trying to make it better, still not really knowing what I was looking for. I was doing a lot of editing of the same poems, over and over, until I felt like I was going in circles.

Eventually, I got sick of the whole cycle. I bought myself a couple decent books on poetry, read them, and realized form and meter were more important than I had suspected, particularly meter. I quit trying to be published, because I was afraid to put my poetry online, for fear journals that only take unpublished material wouldn’t want it. I started this blog, and while it’s not huge, I feel like I’m being heard. I found a couple writing prompt sites (Write With Pictures and Daily Writing Practice) and I write there a lot. It’s practice, so I’ve quit listening for publishableness.

Most importantly, I’ve learned about a few forms and meters I like and I try to fit my words to them. I have a sense, now, of the form or meter that will best convey the rhythm and intensity of my words, and the kind of poem I want. I still don’t know how good a poet I am, or if I’ll be published, but when

The unacknowledged secrets, the secrets
I carry in my heart, and are not spoken
I whisper them sometimes, inside my head,
Soft within me, and smile.

becomes

The unacknowledged secrets carried
Near my heart, unspoken.
Soft within me, I whisper them, smiling.

there is a moment of grace.

I don’t think it will ever be published, but I know I improved it, and it sings.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. these seem easily publishable to me.
    but then i’m not a publicist

    Reply
  2. Knikarmscherm

     /  February 7, 2010

    It was about time that I finally read something worthwhile. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  3. Descarga

     /  February 7, 2010

    Thanks for the Information.

    Reply
  4. I need to study more on this topic. I admire the determination you put in your blog, due to the fact it’s obviously one fantastic place where I can find lot of useful info…Hi, Fantastic posting, I’m incredibly happy to have found this weblog. Thank you for the usefull details.

    Reply
  5. Hi I found your site when i was searching Yahoo for sites related to this content. I must say, I like your site. I like the layout too, its pleasing. I dont have much time at the moment to fully read your website but I have noted it and I also signed up for your RSS feed. I will be back in a day or two. Thanks for an useful site.

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the post I actually learned something from it. Very good content on this site Always looking forward to new post.

    Reply
  7. Really nice blog you have there. Some of your posts really amazed me. I will definitely visit your blog again!

    Reply
  8. Thanks for posting this. Gardening was a favorite pastime of mine, with my grandma when I was a kid. It’s good to keep it up for the upcoming generation.

    Reply
  9. This is such a great post. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

    Reply
  10. Hi. I just wanted to advise you that some elements of your web site are onerous to comprehend for me, as I am color blind. I suffer from protanopia, however there are more types of color blindness that may also have issues. I can read the largest part of the web page OK, and those elements I have difficulties with I am able to comprehend by using a custom browser. In any case, it’d be nice if you would bear in mind we color-blind people whilst doing the next web page redesign. Many Thanks.

    Reply
  11. This is certainly my initial stop by and I really like what I’m seeing. Your weblog is so much fun to look over, quite compelling as well as informative. I’ll undoubtedly recommend it to my friends. Nevertheless, I did have some problem with the commenting. It kept giving me an problem whenever I clicked on publish comment. I hope, that can be fixed. Many thanks

    Reply
  12. Great comment about success

    Reply
  13. Very interesting article. Couldn’t of written any better. Browsing this post reminds me of my old chum. He constantly kept speaking about this. I will send this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing! :)

    Reply
  14. Hi webmaster – This is by far the best looking site I’ve seen. It was completely easy to navigate and it was easy to look for the information I needed. Fantastic layout and great content! Every site should have that. Awesome job

    Reply
  1. Spa: What To Expect in 2010? | Unique Utility Watches | Spa Beauty Wisdom

Leave a Reply

