Mini Book Review: Chesapeake

I have finally finished Chesapeake by James Michener. I said months ago I would be reading it. Well, I finally did. It was excellent. I really enjoyed it. I might even read another James Michener novel, although it was a very long book. It would have taken a very long time if I hadn’t been feeling unwell. I have done nothing the past two days but read it.

I don’t have much else to say, except I had finished the entire book before I realized that he drops ‘casual’ remarks about the geography throughout the whole book, that put together tell the reader significant things about the land (and the way it was in the Ice Age), but he never quite comes out and says them. It was kind of mind-boggling.

Four out of five stars (one knocked off for sheer length).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

