Mini Book Review

Just a note to say I was disappointed in Mary Pat Kelly’s Galway Bay. In fact, I returned it to the library today, unfinished. Now, you might not be able to tell this from the last batch of books I read, but it’s unusual for me not to finish a book. I couldn’t finish this one because the characters were so focused on Irish nationalism (even before the potato famine came) that it was more a treatise on Irish nationalism than it was a novel. Now, the way the English treated the Irish in the early 19th century was simply shameful. But I do believe that the Irish at that time would have been able to let more than 5 minutes pass without talking about it. I was not at all surprised when I saw the list of books also authored by Kelly and all but one were non-fiction.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

