Candlelight Vigil for Trayvon Martin

Candlelight Vigil in Hong Kong for the 18th An...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just returned from a candlelight vigil for Trayvon Martin, the young man whose life was tragically cut short last month in Florida.

What kind of a world do we live in, that teenagers are not safe walking home after dark? What kind of a world do we live in, that teenagers who dress like their peers, just trying to fit in, are labelled as thugs?

I thought we had moved beyond the world where African-American teenage males must be told to be careful how they act, or they will be arrested or worse. All teenagers annoy their elders, but that African-American males must fear for their lives is just plain wrong.

I want to live in a world where no one dies because of fear, where being black (or brown, or some color other than white) is not a crime, where law-abiding teenagers don’t have to fear the police, or vigilantes, where love and justice prevail.

How long must we wait for Dr. King’s dream to come true?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great information, thank you. I see we share the same interest in black history and namely the case of Tyravon Martin, I have written alot about him. My name is Penny and I just began to blog, it would be such an honor if you would take some time to check out my blogs, constructive criticism is always welcome, and it’s nice to have friends you have things in common with. I love history, on my blog I created the first online African America encyclopedia which is filled with rich history and many colorful, bright, genious, artists, scientists from the African American heritage. Please check me out, I’d be so happy. kindly penny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,268 other followers

